Find yourself with a DUI arrest in Oakland?
Hire a local DUI defense attorney with over 20 years of exclusive DUI defense experience. Attorney Morell has devoted her legal career to defending those who have been accused of DUI in Oakland and the surrounding areas. She only takes DUI cases. Many law offices take every type of crime that walks through the door and usually view DUI cases as unimportant. Not Ms. Morell. She knows the DUI defenses and how to use them to your benefit. Why hire a lawyer that is not educated in the most recent DUI defenses? Ms. Morell knows the Oakland DUI process and knows how to present your best defense.
Oakland DUI Arrest Information
The following police agencies patrol the City of Oakland: CHP Oakland, Oakland Police Department, and Alameda County Sheriff's Department. When you are arrested for a DUI in Oakland, California, you will be given a court date. The Court that handles all Oakland DUI arrests is the Alameda Superior Court, Wiley W. Manuel Courthouse, 661 Washington Street, Oakland, CA 94607.
On your court date, your case will be assigned to a certain department. Your first court date is called an "arraignment." This date is a procedural court date where the complaint is received listing your charges and the police report. The chemical test results are also received. The case is then continued to another court date. In between the first court date and the second court date, the investigation into your case starts. This is a very important part of your case and why an attorney is essential to the proper defense of your case. It is possible to have charges reduced and avoid jail time.
What you should know about the DMV Hearing Request in Oakland
It is important to know that a DMV hearing request must be made within 10 days from the date of arrest in order to contest your initial license suspension. For an Oakland arrest, a request for a DMV hearing must be made to the Oakland Driver's Safety Office, 510-563-8900. The 10 days include weekends and holidays. It is important you act within this strict time frame or you may have waived your right to a hearing. However, if you did not make the request within the 10 day time limit, a request for a late hearing may be made. Most DMV hearings are scheduled within 4-8 weeks from the date of arrest. The DMV will mail an additional temporary license so that your driving privileges remain valid until a decision from the hearing is made. There are many defenses to DMV hearings. These hearing can be won!
For DMV administrative hearings in Oakland and other Alameda County DUI cases visit: Oakland DMV info