Have you been arrested for a DUI in Berkeley?
The police agencies responsible for enforcing the DUI laws in Berkeley are the Berkeley Police Department, Alameda County Sheriff's Office and the University of California, Berkeley Police Department.
Don't delay - you only have 10 days to ask for a hearing.
What you should know about the DMV Hearing Request in your County
A DUI/DWI charge may have both administrative and criminal penalties. After a DUI arrest in Berkeley, you will only have 10 days to petition for a DMV hearing in order to contest your initial license suspension. The 10 days include weekends and holidays and it is important you make your request within this strict time frame or you will have waived your rights to a hearing.
If you are facing DUI charges in Berkeley, give Amy Morell a call to review your case. Amy is a local DUI defense attorney with over 25 years of exclusive DUI/DWI law practice.
Former DUI Prosecutor, Amy has devoted her legal career to defending those who have been accused of DUI in Berkeley and the surrounding area. She will not rest until everything possible has been done, all of your questions have been answered, and your fears and concerns addressed.
When you are arrested for a DUI in Berkeley, you will be given a court date.
The Court that handles all Berkeley DUI arrests is the Alameda Superior Court, Wiley W. Manuel Courthouse, 661 Washington Street, Oakland, CA 94607.
On your court date, your case will be handled in your assigned department. Your first court date is called an "arraignment." This date is a procedural court date where the complaint is received listing your charges and the police report. The chemical test results are also received. The case is then continued to another court date.
In between the first court date and the second court date, the investigation into your case starts. This is a very important part of your case and why an attorney is essential to the proper defense of your case. Please contact Amy Morell for a free consultation at 1-877-366-9440.
What you should know about the DMV Hearing Request in Berkeley
It is important to know that a DMV hearing request must be made within 10 days from the date of arrest in order to contest your initial license suspension. For an Berkeley arrest, a request for a DMV hearing must be made to the Oakland Driver's Safety Office, 510-563-8900. The 10 days include weekends and holidays. It is important you act within this strict time frame or you may have waived your right to a hearing. However, if you did not make the request within the 10 day time limit, a request for a late hearing may be made. Most DMV hearings are scheduled within 4-8 weeks from the date of arrest. The DMV will mail an additional temporary license so that your driving privileges remain valid until a decision from the hearing is made. There are many defenses to DMV hearings. These hearing can be won!
For DMV administrative hearings in Berkeley and other Alameda County DUI cases visit: Oakland DMV info