If you have been arrested for a misdemeanor first offense DUI in California, you are sure to have questions.
The question most often asked is: “Will I go to jail?”
The answer is: “Most likely you will not.”
Even though the statutory minimum jail time for a first offense in California is stated as 48 hours, most courts allow jail alternatives. This may include some sort of work alternative program typically run through the Sheriff's program or some sort of community type service work. The work is usually picking up trash off the side or the road or at a park for 8 hours with breaks. If you are unable to do this type of work, some programs allow for “light duty” work that would be desk type of work. Usually, you would need to provide a letter from a medical provider stating why you need “light duty” work.
Other penalties for a misdemeanor first offense DUI are fines, DUI schools,and restrictions and/or suspensions on driving privileges.
Below are links to the Bay Area Sheriff's Offices:
Santa Clara County: http://www.sccgov.org/sites/sheriff/Pages/Home Page.aspx
Alameda County: https://www.alamedacountysheriff.org
Contra Costa County: http://www.co.contra-costa.ca.us/index.aspx?nid=60
San Francisco County: http://www.sfsheriff.com
San Mateo County: http://www.smcsheriff.com
Marin County: http://www.marinsheriff.org
Napa County: http://www.countyofnapa.org/sheriff/
For more information, or if you need a DUI attorney, contact us or give us a call at (877) 366-9440. Amy Morell Law is a highly-experienced DUI practice. We specialize exclusively in DUI; with over 17 years experience, we know the ins and outs of DUI defense.